WIP = Work In Paralysis

I think it was 2009 when I began drafting scenes for a novel that has remained, to date, far from complete.

If you’ve been taking occasional peeks into this blog for the last five years, you may have chanced upon several of these scenes as well as numerous notes “scribbled” in my struggle to make sense of what I was doing and where I wanted to go with this work. For the un-initiated: The story revolves around Hannah and is told from the perspectives of the men in her life: father, stepfather, friend, colleague, etc. Being a novice, I could not keep from lifting a few seeds from the familiar, so the novel is perhaps 10 percent autobiographical.

From 2011 to maybe 2014 I used the yWriter software to put together and polish what few elements I had drafted, but the novel has been untouched for the last couple of years. A few weeks ago I found out I couldn’t open the program. I don’t know if I can still retrieve my content.

So. I think much serious reflection is in order. Will I ever finish this project? Do I even want to, at this point? For a long time now I’ve been spending most of my energy writing technical reports, flash fiction, journal entries, random notes and Facebook posts. Am I still able, and willing, to go back to this novel and see it through?

uwePOIURHJGOPIUREWHJGPOW Htp9 l,eaekrolkju <*bangs head on keyboard*>

 

Leave a Comment

