No, thanks!

Promptly Written asks,

Is there a place in the world you never want to visit? Where,
and why not?

Let’s start by taking hell out as an option. Self-explanatory.

I’ve been blessed with opportunities to go to many places all over the world (continents yet to be visited: Australia and Antarctica) as well as to have been exposed to a myriad of settings: urban slums and luxurious resorts, dumpsite communities and affluent villages, shacks and palaces, corporate board rooms, sugarcane fields, red light districts…the list goes on, and I have never felt regret over having gone to any place. I must say that the worst place I’ve been to was a club where naked women danced, put on flimsy clothes and sat at tables to entertain men and even be “taken home.” I was only eleven (yes, you read that right) when I went there — it was supposed to be an “educational trip” for me, so I’d see what some people, women especially, had to go through to get by in life. Was it traumatizing? Yes. Illegal for me to have even entered that place? I would think so, though I didn’t know any better then and my mom (you read that right again) certainly thought it was good parenting to bring me there. And she was right about one thing: I did see what some women were going through to earn a living.

So. Where would I never want to go? A brothel, definitely.

That club I visited decades ago was quite close to being one, I suppose, but I don’t think I’ll ever get over going to an actual brothel, as I have seen them portrayed in the news and in the movies. I’m not sure my heart can take it.

Still, I’m a social worker, and I don’t know what lies ahead in my practice of my profession. So I can’t really say I would never, ever go to a brothel. If it’s for a rescue mission, who knows? I know I wouldn’t like it at all, but if it would mean taking part in rebuilding the dignity and the lives of exploited women, how could I say no?

 

3 thoughts on “No, thanks!

Leave a Comment

