one more time, with feelings

Yet again I have decided to draft goals for ROW 80. This must be my sixth time participating. I have never finished.

Speak of detrimental habits, which this round starts off asking.

ROW 80 moderator Kait Nolan asks, and I answer:

What habits do you have that are detrimental to excellence? – Not following through. Never finishing.

And what habits can you create that facilitate excellence? – Following through. Finishing.

It’s easy to see, then, what my goals are for this round:

  1. FOLLOW THROUGH. With this blog, with ROW 80, with my WIP.
  2. FINISH. Make that, FINISH WELL. At the very least, complete this round. Seriously.

I’m letting you in as well on my strategy: I’ve enrolled in a Blogging 101 course, which I will follow up with Blogging 201, Writing 101 and Writing 201. These should, and probably will, keep me on my toes and actually get me writing consistently.

I think I need a partner, or even a group, to whom I can be accountable. Anybody?

7 thoughts on “one more time, with feelings

  1. Yeppers, also an issue for me. I have so many unfinished first drafts in need of revision that it’s really ridiculous. I’ve got one I’m working into my schedule this year. I decided that if I didn’t work on it now, it would never get done. And I love the story!
    Finishing is so important!

    Good luck with this round and your classes!

    1. Thank you, Erin! A bit reassuring to know I’m not the only one 🙂 ‘Hope you finish your draft, too! Feel free to share any working drafts if you feel like having them read by others.

  2. I too have never fully finished a Row80 round. It always fires me up but it gets dodgy somewhere in the middle and I lose sight of what I wanted to get done. I think it’s a great idea to stay accountable to friends to help stay on course, like we do in NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Comment

