old flame

Checked my last post here. June 2, 2012.

Thirteen ghastly months!

It’s a bit like going through a bad breakup caused by unworthy distractions (I curse you, Facebook! and Work!) and thereafter becoming a walking cliche, spending most of one’s time poring over precious moments shared (read: old posts) and playing over and over in one’s head the what-could’ve-beens of staying committed. Then, eventually, not much differently from how cheesy romances go, returning, and promising never to let go again (Cue in whatever 80s love song seems appropriate). Ha!

So.

I’m making a number of public resolutions to get myself writing again. Shaming for unfulfilled commitments will be very much welcome. Here they go:

1. I’m signing up again for ROW80, via this post.

2. I will regularly submit posts to Inspiration Monday.

3. I will finish my novel’s first draft on November 30, 2013, with the NaNoWriMo folk. The date goes beyond this round of ROW80, but I just want to put it out there this early. This also means I should be more than halfway through my draft by end of September.

4. I will submit an essay or a short story for actual publication.

Yup, all these seem doable enough. Somebody slap me should I go slacking again.

10 thoughts on “old flame

  1. Welcome back. I really hope you reach your goals and get into writing again. I admire you for the public posting too.

    I’m also doing NaNo this November and have an idea about what I want to write (I’m on there as Deborah Osborne) What’s your user name and I’ll keep an eye out for you to see if you make it πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Debbie! I have material to start with, so I won’t officially be participating in NaNo. I just thought it would be a good idea to get my novel done by the end of November, too, sort of ride the NaNo wave of writing frenzy πŸ™‚

  2. Welcome home! (You know how we are at the ROW80–leave for a few months, a year… come back home, and you’re treated like the prodigal son (and often better)).

    Those don’t seem to be too unbearable as far as goals go. Just be prepared to change and adjust as needed. Have a good week!

  3. Welcome back! How about if, instead of a slap, we just invite you to keep coming back? πŸ˜€ These look like great goals–I can’t wait to hear more as you go along.

Leave a Comment

