back to the drawing board

When I got started with ROW80 a few days ago, I was so excited that I launched into a series of episodes/scenes/pieces right away without following any sequence or referring to any blueprint. I had some sort of idea for my plot and some sense of what my characters would be like, and all those were enough since I was just getting started anyway. Right?

Then I read this and was brought back to earth faster than a skydiver without a parachute. My comment on the article:

Wow, I needed this reminder! I started a rough outline for my novel a few months ago and have also accomplished several character questionnaires, but now that I’m writing scenes I don’t even refer back to them anymore. Silly, silly me! Plus I’m not exactly helping myself by writing my scenes in no particular order. Direction-less much?

So  I took another look at my super rough outline (version as of 18th April 2011) and reflected on whether this was still where I wanted to take my novel. The answer? Not really. I’m virtually rubbing my palms together here, determined to think my plot through better and to come up with a revised outline that should guide me (more or less) in the next weeks. As I write this, I’m starting to have a clearer vision in my head of what I really want to happen. I just have to put my thoughts down and to organize my ideas. If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to my super secret workroom now.

Leave a Comment

