Day 9 Letter: Someone I wish I could meet

Dear Mr. Mandela,

I’m quite sure, Sir, that you get this all the time, but how I just wish that I can still have the opportunity to meet you!

I want to thank you for inspiring generations of change makers the world over.

I want to thank you for treading the path of forgiveness and reconciliation, even when most of humanity would rather see war and retaliation.

I want to thank you, for when you chose to embrace mercy rather than to be consumed by hate, you showed us all that man with all his limitations can always decide to do even what everyone else may find unthinkable — to transcend one’s emotions, even the most powerful and destructive, for the good of the many.

I want to thank you for your leadership that not only broke barriers and transformed a nation, but that also showed and continues to show the rest of us how it’s supposed to be done.

You lead not a perfect life, but through all your triumphs and mishaps, you have gained the world’s utmost respect.

Thank you once again, Mr. Mandela, and may you have genuine joy for the rest of your days.

One thought on “Day 9 Letter: Someone I wish I could meet

Leave a Comment

