the hazards of blogging

I spent most of today tinkering with the features of this fairly new blog. I’m supposed to dedicate this initiative to my pursuit of writing, but I realize now that I’ve been allowing myself to be thrown off-course by my fixation with widgets and site stats — and the self-consciousness that follows such preoccupations that have to do with my blog’s being read/seen by other people.

I need to make a promise to myself that after today, time and energy spent on this blog will be devoted to producing posts and absolutely nothing else. I shouldn’t forget that my bottomline here is simply to write.

Leave a Comment

